Artificial Intelligence, Science, Technology
Comments 3

Some of the Books I Read Before Writing Mindclone

ABOUT THE BRAIN AND CONSCIOUSNESS:

Allman, William F.: Apprentices of Wonder

Ausubel, Kenny, Editor: Nature’s Operating Instructions

Blakemore, Colin and Greenfield, Susan: Mindwaves

Calvin, William H.: The Cerebral Symphony

Campbell, Jeremy: The Improbable Machine

Chalmers, David J.: The Conscious Mind

Clarke, Richard A.: Cyber War

Damasio, Antonio: Self Comes to Mind

Damasio, Antonio: The Feeling of What Happens

Deacon, Terrence W.: The Symbolic Species: The Co-Evolution of Language and the Brain

Dennett, Daniel: Consciousness Explained

Fischer, Steven Roger: A History of Language

Greenfield, Susan: The Private Life of the Brain

Hawkins, Jeff: On Intelligence

Hofstadter, Douglas: I Am a Strange Loop

Hughes, James: Citizen Cyborg: Why Democratic Societies Must Respond to the   Redesigned Human of the Future

Kauffmann, Stuart: At Home in the Universe

Kurzweil, Ray: The Age of Spiritual Machines

Kurzweil, Ray: The Singularity is Near

Minsky, Marvin: The Emotion Machine

Noonan, David: Neuro-

Ornstein, Robert: The Evolution of Consciousness

Pearce, Joseph Chilton: Exploring the Crack in the Cosmic Egg

Pinker, Steven: The Language Instinct

Pinker, Steven: Words and Rules

Powers, Richard: Galatea 2.2

Rose, Frank: Into the Heart of the Mind: An American Quest for Artificial Intelligence

Ryle, Gilbert: The Concept of Mind

Satinover, Jeffrey: The Quantum Brain

Scott, Alwyn: Stairway to the Mind

Seife, Charles: Decoding the Universe

Seung, Sebastian: Connectome

Tononi, Giulio: Phi: A Voyage from the Brain to the Soul

Ward, Mark: Virtual Organisms

Wiener, Norbert: The Human Use of Human Beings

Wins, Jonathan: Brain & Psyche

by

I made my bones as an advertising copywriter. My TV, radio and print ads have amused millions of people and helped sell tons of cleaning products, coffee, macadamia nuts and other goodies. But I prefer that other kind of fiction: short stories and novels. My first published novel, Mindclone, is a near-future look at the amusing and serious consequences of brain-uploading. It’s garnered mostly five star reviews. The sequel is percolating in my brain even now. Stay tuned.

3 Comments

    • It is a lot of books, but remember, I didn’t read them just so I could write Mindclone. I read them over the course of several years because they were about subjects I found intensely fascinating. I should add that as a part of my research, I did read many, many online articles, and my collected file of them runs to well over a hundred pages single-spaced. I would post them all, but I don’t think I can without violating the rights of the authors.

      Like

      • I get it. I’ve read voraciously about China’s link to Silicon Valley past, present & future, and find myself more knowledgable than most at this point. But still so much more to learn!

        Like

Leave a Reply

