Writing & Publishing
Comments 4

I used Booklaunch to create a landing page for my novel.

These days, an author is expected to do a lot of the heavy lifting, even when there’s a major publisher involved. Gone are the good times when newbie novelists got large advances and a big marketing push–unless your publisher is convinced you’ve written the next blockbuster. You’re expected to create a platform: a media presence that uses all the latest social media to get your name and your book out there in the world. Makes a writer wonder what exactly a publisher is good for. As part of that effort, I went to Booklaunch to create a landing page for Mindclone. I found the process pretty easy and intuitive. And they offer the kind of support you always hoped for, too. Here’s a link to my page.

http://booklaunch.io/davewolf141/547e1a37b2d202e520cff4c6

MINDCLONE COMPLETE

This entry was posted in: Writing & Publishing

by

I made my bones as an advertising copywriter. My TV, radio and print ads have amused millions of people and helped sell tons of cleaning products, coffee, macadamia nuts and other goodies. But I prefer that other kind of fiction: short stories and novels. My first published novel, Mindclone, is a near-future look at the amusing and serious consequences of brain-uploading. It’s garnered mostly five star reviews. The sequel is percolating in my brain even now. Stay tuned.

4 Comments

  1. Beverly Nault says

    I’m checking out your book, it looks very interesting. I found you because I was interested in your experience with book launch.io…anything to report yet?

    Like

    • The one thing I do not have is feedback on the number of people who visit that page or buy the book by pressing one of those buy buttons. I can tell you that I have also created an author page on Amazon, which not only lists Mindclone, but also two short stories I’ve written since. (If you go to the Amazon page for Mindclone and click the author name, you’ll see my author page.) And besides that, I have also started a blog on wordpress — which is how I received your comment in the first place. I also have presence on other social media sites, including LinkedIn.

      Like

  2. Hi David. Did you pay for your Booklaunch account ? Mine is free but I can’t access the Endorsements sections. That’s why I think you must have a premium account.
    And if you do, why didn’t you purchase a specific Domain name for your book page ?
    Your Booklaunch URL does not help for marketing purposes… 🙂

    Like

    • I did not purchase the premium account. I already had garnered those endorsements*, and placed them on the page when I created it. There are no new ones since I launched. I haven’t ruled out going premium, but I’m torn between a variety of other marketing offers that I have to pay for as well.

      *I just realized I was thinking about a different page I created, using the site Booklaunch. The endorsements I was thinking about were on that page: https://booklaunch.io/davewolf141/547e1a37b2d202e520cff4c6
      But if people write comments approving of what you’ve done, they should show on your wordpress page in the comments section. In any case, I did not have to pay for my wordpress page. I still feel I have a lot to learn about blogging, including getting into a rhythm of putting up my own comments, perhaps weekly. Right now, I mainly repost items I think are of interest to readers of my book, or writers.

      Like

Leave a Reply

